Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Meet the Team

This is a headshot of Pierre.

Pierre Côté DC, PhD

Director,  CDPR Canada Research Chair in Disability Prevention and Rehabilitation

Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences, Ontario Tech University
pierre.cote@ontariotechu.ca

Link to Bio

sil

Silvano Mior DC, PhD, FCCS(C)

CDPR Scientist

Director, Research Partnerships and Health Policy, CMCC
smior@cmcc.ca

Link to Bio

Carol

Carol Cancelliere  DC, MPH, PhD

Canadian Chiropractic Research Foundation (CCRF) Research Chair in Knowledge Translation
Project Lead, Canadian Chiropractic Guideline Initiative

carol.cancelliere@ontariotechu.ca

Link to Bio

fro

Efrosini

Papaconstantinou

RN, PhD

Associate Professor, Ontario Tech University

CDPR Scientist  efrosini.papaconstantinou@ontariotechu.ca

Link to Bio

sheilah

Sheilah Hogg-Johnson MMath, PhD

Professor, Research and Innovation, CMCC

CDPR Scientist

shoggjohnson@cmcc.ca

Link to Bio

poonam

Poonam Cardoso BHS (Hons), PMP

Research Administration Officer 
poonam.cardoso@ontariotechu.ca

Link to Bio

gaelan

Gaelan Connell BHK, MRSc, DC,

Research Associate gaelan.connell@ontariotechu.ca

Link to Bio

melissa

Melissa Corso BSc, MSc, DC, FRCCSS(C)

Research Associate

melissa.macmillan@ontariotechu.ca

 Link to Bio

Heather

Heather Shearer BA (Hons), DC, MSc, FCCS(C), PhD (Candidate)

Research Associate, Chiropractic Clinical Specialist heather.shearer@ontariotechu.ca

Link to Bio

danielle's headshot

Danielle Southerst DC, FCCS(C)

Research Associate danielle.annamalai@ontariotechu.ca

Link to Bio

anne

Anne Taylor-Vaisey BA, MLS

Research Associate 
anne.taylorvaisey@ontariotechu.ca

Link to Bio

leslie

Leslie Verville BHSc, MHSc

Research Project Manager
leslie.verville@ontariotechu.ca

Link to Bio

Headshot

Dan (Demi) Wang BMEd, MSc, PhD

Post Doctoral Fellow
dan.wang@ontariotechu.ca

Link to Bio

Get to know our team!

Jessica Wong BSc, DC, MPH FCCS(C), PhD Candidate

Research Associate

jessica.wong@ontariotechu.ca

Link to Bio

Hainan

Hainan Yu MBBS, MSc

Research Project Manager

hainan.yu@ontariotechu.ca

Link to Bio